Posted by: jasonk2600 | September 14, 2009

New Common Criteria

After much research and evaluating, the NIAP has updated the U.S. Protection Profile Robustness model. This model was more commonly known as "Common Criteria", which originated from ISO-IEC 15408 (CCITSE – Common Criteria for Information Technology Security Evaluation). The Common Criteria and Evaluation Assurance Level requirements have been updating to reflect modern security practices, technologies, and threats. Check out the first link below to read more about the "New Common Criteria" scheme setup by NIAP. The second link provides a sample of how the new scheme fits into an operating system that has already been evaluated with the older Common Criteria.

  • New NIAP CCEVS Strategy for FY10.
  • The New Common Criteria Security Evaluation Scheme and the Windows 2000 Evaluation.

  • Advertisements

    Leave a Reply

    Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

    You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

    Google+ photo

    You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

    Twitter picture

    You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

    Facebook photo

    You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


    Connecting to %s


    %d bloggers like this: